جورواجور

از هر دری سخنی با خوانندگان عزیز...

جورواجور

از هر دری سخنی با خوانندگان عزیز...

آموزش زبان انگلیسی (6) تمام سطوح

How do I form adverbs?

 

1. Tick the correct sentence in each pair.1 a When I heard the news. I left immediately.
   b When I heard the news. I left immediatly.
2 a I was really tired when I got home.
   b I was realy tired when I got home.

We use adverbs to describe verbs. In general, we form an adverb by adding -ly to an adjective:
Clear → clearly, fortunate → fortunately, careful → carefully


If an adjective ends in y, we change the y to i before adding –ly:
Easy → easily, happy → happily, lucky → luckily
We can't make adverbs from adjectives such as friendly and lovely, which already end in -ly. Instead we use the adjective + fashion, manner or way.
The teacher spoke to me in a friendly way.

Some adverbs are irregular. Good is an adjective and well is an adverb; fast and hard are both. We also use hardly before a verb to mean 'only just, almost not':
I hardly play chess at all. My brother is a good chess player. He plays chess well. He works hard to improve his game.
We sometimes use adverbs such as really, completely, absolutely, truly (true + -ly) with adjectives (see Unit 23):
My new watch is truly lovely.

 

2. Complete the sentences with the adverb form.

 

1 The room was completely .......... (complete) empty when I went in.
2 And .......... (final), I would like to thank everyone for coming.
3 I am .......... (true) sorry for what happened.
4 I look forward to hearing from you. Yours .......... (sincere), Jess Cripps.
5 The other team wasn't very good, so we won .......... (easy).
6 My friend is .......... (definite) the best student in the class.
7 My father drove very .......... (fast), so we got there on time.
8 I was late for school, but .......... (lucky) the teacher was late too.

ANSWER KEY:

1.1 a
1.2 a
2.2 finally
2.3 truly
2.4 sincerely
2.5 easily
2.6 definitely
2.7 fast
2.8 luckily

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
امکان ثبت نظر جدید برای این مطلب وجود ندارد.